In 2013, the USAID Planning and Local Government Projects entered into formal partnership agreements with 15 local governments to provide technical assistance and training. As a result of territorial reform in 2015, the original 15 partner municipalities were consolidated into the following 13:

Berat, Durres, Elbasan, Fier, Kamza, Korça, Kuçova, Lushnja, Patos, Saranda, Vora, Vlora, and Tirana

The PLGP targets advanced assistance and resources to six of these municipalities, known as model municipalities:

Berat, Elbasan, Fier, Korça, Kuçova, and Lushnja.